ALDP 2016-17 Calendar of Events

August: Fundamentals of Academic Leadership at UBC

Monday, August 29 · 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Boot Camp, Part I: Getting Started as an Academic Leader at UBC – Day 1
Sage Bistro, 6331 Crescent Road

Monday, August 29 · 5:30 – 8:00 PM
Kick-off Barbeque
Sage Bistro, 6331 Crescent Road

Tuesday, August 30 · 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Boot Camp, Part I: Getting Started as an Academic Leader at UBC – Day 2
Sage Bistro, 6331 Crescent Road

September: Focus on Faculty & Staff

Tuesday, September 20 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Supporting and Assessing Faculty Career Development · Studio
Technology Enterprise Facility, 6190 Agronomy Road, Room 610

Tuesday, September 27 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
Working Effectively with Union and Non-union Staff · Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

October: Focus on Students

Wednesday, October 19 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
The Changing Landscape of Teaching and Learning · Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

Thursday, October 27 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Fostering a Positive Student Experience · Studio
Board & Senate Room, 2nd Floor, Old Administration Building, 6328 Memorial Road

November: Focus on Budget and Research

Wednesday, November 9 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
Budget & Finance, Part II · Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

(Supporting Research in Your Unit, originally scheduled for November 22nd, and rescheduled for Wednesday, April 26th, will now take place on Wednesday, March 29th from 11:00 am – 1:00 pm in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

Tuesday, November 29 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Succeeding in your Role as an Associate Dean · Studio

Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

December: Moving Beyond the Basics

Tuesday, December 6 · 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM · (Seasonal celebration 5:00 – 6:30 PM)
Boot Camp, Part II: Getting Things Done as an Academic Leader
Sage Bistro, 6331 Crescent Road

January: Focus on Conflict

Tuesday, January 10 · 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM
Engaging with Conflict, Part I: Group Session with Sally Campbell · Workshop
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

Thursday, January 12 and Friday, January 13
Engaging with Conflict, Part II: Individual Sessions with Sally Campbell (by appointment)
Technology Enterprise Facility, 6190 Agronomy Road, Room 614

Tuesday, January 24 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Holding Difficult Conversations · Studio
Technology Enterprise Facility, 6190 Agronomy Road, Room 610

February: Taking Care of Your People

Wednesday, February 1 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
Your Role in Creating a Positive & Respectful Environment at UBC · Studio
CTLT, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Room 2.22

Thursday, February 9 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Addressing Faculty Relations Issues · Studio
Technology Enterprise Facility, 6190 Agronomy Road, Room 610

March: Focus on Strategic Planning, Community Partnerships, and Research

Tuesday, March 7 · 11:00 – 1:00 PM
Strategic Planning · Studio
Technology Enterprise Facility, 6190 Agronomy Road, Room 610

Wednesday, March 22 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
Building Strategic Partnerships in the Community · Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

Wednesday, March 29 · 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Supporting Research in Your Unit · Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

April: Looking Ahead

Wednesday, April 12 · 8:30 AM – 12:30 PM
Leading Change · Workshop
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

(Supporting Research in Your Unit, originally scheduled for November 22nd, and rescheduled for April 26th, will now take place on Wednesday, March 29th from 11:00 am – 1:00 pm in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

Wednesday, April 26 · 8:30 – 10:30 AM
Managing a Crisis · Critical Issues Studio
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, Chilcotin Room (256)

May: Celebrate and Plan for Your Next Year

Tuesday, May 9 · 3:00 – 6:30 PM
ALDP Capstone & Year End Celebration
Allard Hall – First Floor, Lew Forum (Capstone) & Fourth Floor, Terrace Lounge (Reception)